I remember when…

I remember when I couldn’t wait to grow up.

I remember when I couldn’t wait to get older.

I remember when I thought I was the one with all the answers.

I remember when I believed the world could be defined as black and white.

I remember when I valued independence over inter-dependence.

I remember when I thought answers were more important than questions.

I remember when I pursued a life defined by morality rather than a life defined by grace.

I remember when I was young and assumed change was easy.

I remember when I thought that being a teacher was more important than being a learner.

I remember when I valued being an individual rather than being a unique piece of a community.

I remember when I made decisions based on my happiness at the cost of others.

I  remember when I wanted to be famous because I was afraid of insignificance.

I remember when  I considered doubt a weakness.

I remember when I thought faith was a “me” thing instead of a “we” thing.

I remember when I actually thought I had a spec of dust in my eye and my neighbor had a log in theirs.

I remember when I believed God was more concerned with the don’ts and not the do’s.

I remember when I wanted it loud because I was afraid of the quiet.

I remember when I wanted to flee the country for the city and now I want to flee the city for the country.

I remember when the ran after the new and forgot to celebrate the ancient traditions that had been passed on to me.

I remember when everything was either right or wrong with no room for different.

I remember when I allowed philosophies divide and destroy relationships.

I remember when I thought a monologue was more important than a dialogue.

I remember when I actually thought I had arrived…

And then I realized…I’m still in process.

Leave a Reply

